0% Complete
0/13 Steps

Introduction & The Major Bebop Scale


Introduction & The Major Bebop Scale


The C Major Bebop Scale


Bebop Scales are almost like your traditional diatonic scales like the C major and the Mixolydian mode but with one added a passing note. Whereas your major and minor scales have seven notes in an octave, the bebop scales have eight notes, consequently more even. This way we can run the scale the whole measure and have the chord tones landing on the beat.

As you know most jazz tunes are in 4/4 time and we improvise generally using eighth-note rhythm. It means we can play two notes per beat, eight notes in each bar. Now when we improvise we are usually creating lines based on the changes, in other words, we are targeting the chord tones in priority, the notes that will sound good on a specific chord that we are playing. It can be the guide tones the third and the seventh, the root and fifth, sixth. We want to play them on the beat and have the non-chord tone landing on off beats such as the and of 2 and the and of 4, in C major D and F.

That’s why the Bebop Scales are useful because it allows us to create lines very easily that will work with the harmony. This book is designed for the chromatic harmonica player (12, 14 or 16 holes).


Not recently active