Basic Arpeggios


Basic Arpeggios

Arpeggios also called broken chords.  They consist of the notes of a chord played in succession, ascending or descending. 

In this lesson, we are going to arpeggiate chords from the major scale. But first, we will cover triads, then move up to the seventh chords.                     

I recommend practicing these exercises in all keys.

A triad consists of a root, third and fifth. The triads below are formed by stacking thirds on top of each scale tone. In F major: F, G, A, Bb, C, D, and E




Let’s start with an arpeggio of F major.




It’s time to start with triads from the F major scale:




Now let’s play the seventh chord arpeggio based on the F major scale.




Not recently active